Carroll County Youth Service Bureau

Accredited By:

CARF Gold Seal

Internships

CCYSB places a high value on professional development exemplified by its long-standing training of masters and bachelor level social work and counseling students. The “Intern Experience” is structured around the academic year from September through April. Students are typically referred from the University of Maryland School of Social Work, however, other schools represented in recent years include McDaniel College, UMBC, Johns Hopkins University, and Loyola College.

Students receive an intensive training opportunity at the beginning of their placement that offers a range of topics including interviewing techniques, child and adolescent development, family therapy skills, diagnostic considerations and psychotropic medication. Students learn to perform outpatient psychotherapy, and also conduct group services during their placement. Close student supervision is provided by licensed staff clinicians who meet weekly with students to observe sessions, review client progress, and make recommendations for continuing treatment. Students are formally referred by their respective college or university for consideration of placement at CCYSB. Students applying for the “Internship Experience” should have an interest in child development, and a family systems orientation to mental health and substance use treatment.

For more information about our internship program, please contact our Assistant Administrative Director, Gary Honeman at 443-244-8654 or e-mail him at ghoneman@ccysb.org.


 

2018-2019 Masters Level Interns:

Mahlet Alemnew:  Towson – Counseling Psychology
malemnew@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 12-8pm, Tuesday 10am-2pm, Wednesday 12-8pm
Field Instructor: Mallory Sutphin

Lauren Fiocco: University of MD – Social Work
Lfiocco@ccysb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 10am-8pm, Wednesdays 9-8pm, Thursday 8:30am-12pm
Field Instructor: Carla Trump

Karisa Kissinger: University of MD – Social Work
kkissinger@ccsyb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 9-5pm, Wednesday 12-8pm, Thursday 12-8pm
Field Instructor: Marie Speck

Nadia Rupard: University of MD – Social Work
nrupard@ccysb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 9-5pm, Wednesday 12-8pm, Thursday 12-8pm
Field Instructor: Tiffany Masimore

Grace Sevison: Liberty University
gsevinson@ccysb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 9-5pm, Wednesday 12-8pm, Thursday 12-8pm
Field Instructor: Gary Honeman

Amanda Shaleen: Towson – Counseling Psychology
ashaleen@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 12-8pm, Tuesday 10am-2pm, Wednesday 12-8pm (PCIT 4-8pm)
Field Instructor: Mindy Yard

Abby Smith: Towson – Counseling Psychology
asmith@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 12-8pm, Tuesday 10am-2pm, Wednesday 12-8pm
Field Instructor: Susan White

Caitlin Strem: Towson – Counseling Psychology
cstream@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 12-8pm, Tuesday 10am-2pm, Wednesday 12-8pm
Field Instructor: Susan White

 

BSW Interns:

Kady Baker: McDaniel College
kbaker@ccysb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 8am-4pm, Thursday 8am-4pm
Field Instructor: Sarah Tyler

Claire Cherry: UMBC
ccherry@ccysb.org
Schedule:  Monday 9am-5pm, Wednesday 12-8pm
Field Instructor:  Hollie Cushen


Psychiatric  Intern:

Kehinde Oyekan:  Walden University
koyekan@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday & Tuesday 9am-5pm (8/27-10/29)
Field Instructor:  Joyce Agatone

Make a Gift  

online donations


building exterior

Contact Information

59 Kate Wagner Road
Westminster, MD 21157
(410)848-2500
aluchini@ccysb.org


Mon-Thurs 8:30am to 8:00pm 
Fri 8:30am to 4:00pm
Sat 9:00am to 3:00pm 
(by appointment only)


We are a smoke and tobacco-free campus.


like us on facebook

CCYSB