Carroll County Youth Service Bureau

Internships

CCYSB places a high value on professional development exemplified by its long-standing training of masters and bachelor level social work and counseling students. The “Intern Experience” is structured around the academic year from September through April. Students are typically referred from the University of Maryland School of Social Work, however, other schools represented in recent years include McDaniel College, UMBC, Johns Hopkins University, and Loyola College.

Students receive an intensive training opportunity at the beginning of their placement that offers a range of topics including interviewing techniques, child and adolescent development, family therapy skills, diagnostic considerations and psychotropic medication. Students learn to perform outpatient psychotherapy, and also conduct group services during their placement. Close student supervision is provided by licensed staff clinicians who meet weekly with students to observe sessions, review client progress, and make recommendations for continuing treatment. Students are formally referred by their respective college or university for consideration of placement at CCYSB. Students applying for the “Internship Experience” should have an interest in child development, and a family systems orientation to mental health and substance use treatment.

For more information about our internship program, please contact our Assistant Administrative Director, Gary Honeman at 443-244-8654 or e-mail him at ghoneman@ccysb.org.


 

2017-2018 Intern Roster

Masters Level Interns:

Amanda Burrill: Loyola – Pastoral Counseling
aburrill@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 2-8pm, Tuesday 10-3pm, Wednesday 11-8pm — YSB Field Instructor: Susan White, LCPC

Cooper Farrell: Towson – Counseling Psychology
cfarrell@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 12-8pm, Tuesday 10am-2pm, Wednesday 12-8pm — YSB Field Instructor: Bobby Jarrett, LCPC

Kelly Gelner: Univ. of MD – Social Work (Extended)
kgelner@ccysb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 9:30am-8pm and Thursday 2-8pm — YSB Field Instructor: Carla Trump. LCSW-C

Kirandeep “Kiran” Kaur: Towson – Counseling Psychology
kkaur@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 12-8pm, Tuesday 10am-2pm, Wednesday 12-8pm —  YSB Field Instructor: Mallory Sutphin, LCPC

Katie Kinna: Univ. of MD – Social Work
kkinna@ccysb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 9am-5pm, Wednesday 12-8pm, Thursday 12-8pm  —  YSB Field Instructor: Marie Speck, LCSW-C

Sarah Roden: Towson – Counseling Psychology
sroden@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 12-8pm, Tuesdays 10am-2pm, Wednesday 12-8pm —  YSB Field Instructor: Mindy Yard, LCPC (PCIT Instructor)

Victoria “Vicki” Snyder: Loyola – Pastoral Counseling
vsnyder@ccysb.org
Schedule: Tuesday 10am-8pm, Thursday 10am-8pm —  YSB Field Instructor: Susan White, LCPC

Curren Trusty: Palo Alto Online Univ. – Counseling
ctrusty@ccysb.org
Schedule: Monday 10am-8pm, Tuesday 9am-1pm & 4-8pm, Wednesday 9-11am  —  YSB Field Instructor: Gary Honeman, LCSW-C

 

BSW Interns:

Brooke Chenoweth: UMBC – Social Work
bchenoweth@ccysb.org
YSB Field Instructors: Family Preservation Program members

Mark Gales: McDaniel – Social Work
mgales@ccysb.org
YSB Field Instructors: ACT Program members

 

Donate Online!

online donations


building exterior

Contact Information

59 Kate Wagner Road
Westminster, MD 21157
(410)848-2500
aluchini@ccysb.org


Mon-Thurs 8:30am to 8:00pm 
Fri 8:30am to 4:00pm
Sat 9:00am to 3:00pm 
(by appointment only)


We are a smoke and tobacco-free campus.


like us on facebook

CCYSB